Einkorn

So I read Wheat Belly.  Now I’m paranoid about wheat.  I tried eliminating it from the kids’ diet for a few days and they fell apart.  I found Einkorn pasta at Whole Foods, though, and thought I had nothing to lose except $2.79.  Einkorn is the first form of wheat–it was found in the stomach of a 5,000 year old Italian guy in a glacier.  According Wheat Belly author Dr. William Davis, the primary cause of today’s obesity epidemic is the genetically modified wheat that barely resembles the plant people ate even in the 1950s.  According to the package of Jovial Einkorn pasta, “. . . it has only two sets of chromosomes.  Hybridization changed and complicated genetics, with all other species of wheat having more chromosomes, up to six.  Higher levels of chromosomes resulted in larger cell size and changes in protein and starch structure.”  Badly written and probably not important, but I’m desperate.  I know I can’t eat wheat–it triggers such cravings that even a bowl of bran cereal leads to my eating a dozen cookies.  The good news–this pasta smelled and looked beautiful and tasted great.  It was some of the best pasta I’ve had in a while and the kids loved it.  It has 31 grams of carbs and 9 grams of protein.  Not terrible considering a serving of regular pasta has 40 grams of carbs and 7 grams of protein.  Plus, this one is organic and in a fully recycled/recyclable package.  I also like that it has nutrients like manganese, zinc and phosphorus without being enriched.  Regular pasta has few nutrients aside from what’s added.  So, I guess I’m hooked–even after reading Dr. Michael R. Eades’s blog entry citing evidence that our Italian mummy friend had bad teeth, unlike his non-wheat eating Bronze Age counterparts.  Bummer, but I can brush more.

Leave a Reply

