Low Hanging Fruit: 5 Cheap Ways to Chill Out After School

Well, we finally have a cooling trend in Phoenix—only 101 today.  The rain has been such a relief.  The first week of school was rough–because of the heat advisories, the kids didn’t even get to go outside for recess.

Now that they can go outside, we have to be more careful about sunscreen and water.  They’ve gotten better about drinking at school, but they still come home dehydrated and tired.  I’ve been making after school snacks that will cool us down and help us rehydrate.

My favorite treats for the dog days of summer are frozen, unprocessed, cheap and easy:

1.  Home-made Popsicles

I like making popsicles because I can sneak in Greek yogurt, which the kids won’t eat very often.  I can use up whatever fruit I have in the fridge–especially fruit that’s getting too soft to eat.  I don’t add much sugar–just enough so they don’t complain.  My baby food blender holds exactly enough for six popsicles–everybody gets one, except me–I get two.

 

2. Frozen melon balls

The boys love these because they get to use the melon baller.  If you don’t have a melon baller, you don’t know what you’re missing.  I freeze them on a silicone mat on a cookie sheet so they don’t stick.

 

3.   Vanilla almond milk and frozen blueberries

Pour milk, cream, soy milk or almond milk over frozen fruit and sprinkle a little sugar on top.  My boys like to break it up with a spoon and eat it like ice cream.  Trader Joe’s wild blueberries work the best because they’re tiny and very sweet.

 

4.  Smoothies

This is another way I can sneak in Greek Yogurt.  I love this acai smoothy starter–I get it at Sprouts.  I just put a cup or so of yogurt, one packet of smoothie starter, a handful of frozen fruit, a handful of ice, whatever fruit I have (especially if it’s over-ripe), and a little agave syrup in the blender and voila.

 

5.  Frozen yogurt

My ice cream maker is my favorite thing.  Try this very easy recipe for vanilla frozen yogurt.  It comes out soft, so it’s easy to mix in fresh berries.

Mix together 2 cups full fat plain yogurt, 1 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 cup sucralose (if you’re opposed to sucralose–I don’t blame you–you can put granulated sugar in the blender first to turn it into powder).

Pour it in your ice cream maker and wait 1/2 hour.  I usually turn it on before I leave to pick up the kids from school.  You can just put it in a bowl in the freezer and stir it every half hour if you don’t have an ice cream maker.  But really, if you don’t have an ice cream maker, your life is not complete.

One Comment on “Low Hanging Fruit: 5 Cheap Ways to Chill Out After School”

  1. […] Low Hanging Fruit: 5 Cheap Ways to Chill Out After School (phoenixfoodfighters.com) […]


Leave a Reply

