What We Spent and What We Ate: #*&%!@

We spent 284 big ones this week.  Everything fell apart somewhere between Cub Scout meetings and piano lessons.  When my mom crashed my car (everybody’s okay), I just sort of gave up.  Actually, it was worse than just giving up.  I ate a chunk of frozen chocolate cake with a giant blob of cream cheese frosting hastily plopped on top.  Alone.  In the dark.  And the boys ate school lunch the next day ($2).

I’m okay now.  Time to start again.  The kids are going to sleepovers tonight, so we’re off the hook for dinner.  I sort of just want movie popcorn tonight–maybe I’ll start again tomorrow.

What we ate:

Saturday:  pistachio crusted salmon, brown rice and salad

This is one of my favorite last minute dinners.  You just need a piece of salmon, a big handful of pistachios (raw or roasted), mayonnaise, and creamed horseradish.  This goes great with a green salad, brown rice and roasted vegetables.

Just put the pistachios in a sturdy zip lock and smash them (I keep a little hammer in the kitchen) as finely or coarsely as you want.  Then mix the pistachios with 1/4 cup-2/3 cup mayonnaise and horseradish to taste.  Add salt (if using unsalted pistachios) and pepper.  Adjust ingredients to suit size of fish.

Spoon it over your fish.  I put more on this time than I ever have because I wanted to crumble off the crust to eat with my rice.  Usually, I just put a thin layer.  Pat it down a bit and you’re done.

Bake the salmon at 350 for about ten minutes and then broil it on medium until it’s done (about another five minutes).  You can broil it the whole time, but if it’s a big piece of fish, I bake it first to make sure it’s cooked through.  You want the top bubbly and toasted, but the middle just barely cooked.

 

Sunday: mixed bean soup with braised kale and sour cream

As always, I forgot to soak my beans.  I soaked them for 5 hours during the day, though.  Then I put them in a pot with chicken stock (covering beans by about 3 inches), some sauted onion, some diced carrots, celery and tomatoes (peeled).  I brought this to a boil and then simmered it until the beans were tender–about two hours.  Delicious.  We put some of Pat’s chili infused vinegar on it, too.  One thing–I forgot not to add black beans to my bean mix (red beans, pinto beans, lentils, adzuki beans)–they always turn everything a sad grey color.

 

Monday: quiche with bacon and zucchini and salad

Isaac made a little one with the extra pie crust!

 

Tuesday: meatloaf and salad

This is an easy, low-carb every day meatloaf.  I forgot to take a picture of the finished product, so I only have this gross picture of my meat block:

Ingredients:

1.5-2lbs ground grass fed beef

2 carrots and 2 celery stalks minced in the food processor

1 onion minced

3 tbs tomato sauce

2-3 eggs beaten

almond meal, ground flax seed and bread crumbs–about 1.5 cups total

ketchup, chili infused vinegar and black strap molasses for glaze

Directions:

Saute onion until translucent.  Then add carrots and celery. Saute several minutes.  Mix all ingredients in a large bowl–don’t over mix.  Add the dry ingredients until you get the texture you want.  Remember, it has to form a loaf, so it can’t be too soft.  I add mostly almond meal and flax seed–just a 1/4 cup of bread crumbs or panko crumbs.

Form the mixture into a loaf, put on a grated surface and bake at 350 for about an hour.  After the first 10 minutes, I brush on the ketchup mixture and then re-apply ever 15 or 20 minutes.

 

Wednesday: Los Dos Molinos

We went to the new one on Camelback with my brother and my parents.  The food was amazing as always.  They’re corn tortillas are thick and tender–and when they’re fried for pork adovada red chile enchiladas, they’re extra good.  Lute’s pork carnitas soft tacos were sublime.  The wait staff also put the chocolate cake Isaac and I made in the cooler and brought it out for dessert.  My parent’s paid.

Phoenix New Times

 

Thursday: America’s Tacos takeout= $30.  You must get a vampiro tostada every time you go here.

 

Friday:  quinoa and red bean salad w/roasted eggplant, tomatoes and summer squash

I didn’t take a picture of dinner, but it was really good.  The salad is easy.  Just mix three cups cooked quinoa with 1 cup cooked red beans.  I added some salsa verde, olive oil, pepper and a little chili infused vinegar.  I dressed it very lightly so it was still light and fluffy.  It makes a great lunch the next day:

 

What we spent :

This includes the $11.59 Pat spent on cheese.  I’ve told you before, when Pat runs out to pick something up from the store, all bets are off.  I said I needed Gruyere.  If I’d known it was $11.59, I’d have settled for Swiss.  Alas, this was only one of many, many decisions that tripped us up this week.

Leave a Reply

